The Pasadena Branch NAACP awards annual scholarships to high school seniors in honor of Maurice Morse, a retired Pasadena Unified School District educator, a long term member and supporter of the NAACP.

The purpose of the Maurice Morse Scholarship is to provide post high school financial to African-American students who reside in Pasadena or South Pasadena, or who graduate from a school within the Pasadena Unified School District, and/or Pasadena ACT-SO and Pasadena Youth Council members.

The Pasadena Branch has awarded over $10,000 annually in scholarships to local high school graduates.

Selection will be based on the following:

    • Academic achievements, including a cumulative G.P.A. of 2.5 or above
    • 10 service hours within the community
    • Essay (typed, 250 word minimum)
    • School involvement or service
    • Completeness of Application and supporting documentation
    • Oral interview
    • Snapshot of yourself

Application Process:

Interested students must submit a completed application to the Pasadena NAACP, 595 Lincoln Avenue, Suite 103, Pasadena, CA 91103.  Applications must be received at the Pasadena NAACP office by 5;00 p.m., Wednesday, April 17, 2019.  Scholarship funds will be made available only after students verify enrollment in an Accredited Institution of higher learning (university, college, community college, technical or vocational school) for the Fall 2019 session.

Maurice Morse Scholarship Application (73 downloads)

List of 2016 Scholarship recipients:

Mai-Lyn Graves, Blair High School
Jasmine Harris, John Muir High School
Michael Hawkins, Jr., John Muir High School
Devin Henry, Blair High School
D’Mario Lundy, John Muir High School
Sumayyah Muhammad, Blair High School
Shelby Mumford, Archer School for Girls
John Marshall Pointer, John Muir High School
DaShon Pulley, John Muir High School
Elliott Rollins, Harvard-Westlake
Kylee Sharp, John Muir High School
Grant Taylor, John Muir High School
Taylore Thomas, Pasadena High School
Kasey Traylor, John Muir High School

The Keynote Speaker for the 2016 Awards Dinner was given by one of our Scholarship recipients John Marshall Pointer.